跳至主內容
  • EN

宗教及哲學系視哲學及宗教研究兩大研究範疇為一整體,為全港唯一一個研究此二範疇的學系,以期成為宗教及哲學跨學科的國際研究中心。根據2019年QS世界大學學科排名,我系在神學及宗教類別排行第51-100位,在哲學類別排行第101-150位,顯示學系正朝著正確的方向邁向目標。

 

自政府的2014年研究評審工作(RAE2014) 後,我系大力促進互動和研究為本的政策和措施,支援教研團隊的研究工作。我們的研究團隊全都積極投入學術研究,不但在他們自身的專業範疇,也開展許多協作的研究項目。學系擁有濃厚的研究氛圍,也舉辦許多促進學術討論的活動,包括學術研討會、內部學術講座、國際學術會議及研討會,以及為年青研究人員和研究生而設的工作坊。

 

主要研究領域——宗教研究:

  1. 基督宗教研究,包括基督教神學、基督宗教哲學、中國基督教歷史、基督教倫理、基督宗教社會學;
  2. 中國宗教,包括佛教、儒教、道教及中國民間宗教;以及
  3. 跨文化宗教研究,例如中國歷史上的來華傳教士、宗教間對談、以及宗教與性別。

 

主要研究領域——哲學:

  1. 分析及歐陸哲學,如康德研究、知識論,及語言哲學;
  2. 宗教哲學,包括宗教經驗的知識論、康德的宗教哲學,及對神是否存在的正反論述;
  3. 中國哲學,包括佛教、儒教及道教;以及
  4. 跨文化或比較哲學,如孟子及馬可•奧勒留的政治哲學、沙特和道教的自由、中國戰爭倫理和西方正義戰爭理論、康德和《易經》,以及神經基因組學和佛教。

 

我系大部分的研究項目都是跨科際和跨文化,不但重視個人研究,也重視協作研究,特別是比較和跨文化研究。我們的兩個研究中心,中華基督宗教研究中心 (CSCS) 及應用倫理學研究中心 (CAE) 也支持相關研究。除了理論探索,我們也專注於哲學或宗教傳統於該文化和跨文化語境中的研究。

Skip to main content

The Department of Religion and Philosophy operates as an integrated whole which includes both disciplines of philosophy and religious studies. As the only department in Hong Kong which combines religion with philosophy, our vision is to be an international powerhouse of research in interdisciplinary studies of religion and philosophy. According to QS University Subject Rankings 2019, for Theology, Divinity and Religion our ranking is #51-100 and for Philosophy our ranking is #101-150. Both of these two rankings show that we are on the right track to achieve our goal. 

 

Since RAE 2014, the Department has implemented more dynamic and research-based policies and practices to support faculty members in their research. The entire research team has been actively involved in research, either in his/her own field of interest or in collaborative research projects. A vibrant research environment is provided. This includes Department colloquia, internal research seminars, international conferences and symposia, and specially tailored workshops for junior staff and research students.

 

Major research areas of religious studies: 

  • Christian studies which includes Christian theology, philosophy of Christian religion, history of Chinese Christianity, Christian ethics, and sociology of Christian religion; 
  • Chinese religions which include Buddhism, Confucianism, Daoism, and Chinese folk religions; and 
  • Cross-cultural religious studies such as missionaries in Chinese history, inter-religious dialogue, and religion and gender. 

 

Major research areas of philosophy: 

  1. Analytic and continental philosophy such as Kantian studies, epistemology and philosophy of language; 
  2. Philosophy of religion, which includes the epistemology of religious experience, Kantian philosophy of religion, and cosmological arguments for and against God; 
  3. Chinese philosophy which includes Buddhism, Confucianism, and Daoism; and 
  4. Cross-cultural or comparative philosophy such as the political philosophy of Mengzi with Marcus Aurelius, Freedom in Sartre and Daoism, Chinese war ethics with Western just war theory, Kant considered through the Yijing, and Neurogenomics and Buddhism. 

 

Much of our research is multi-disciplinary and cross-cultural. While the Department endorses individual research projects, it values collaborative works with special attention to comparative and cross-cultural studies, which have been further supported by our two research centres, namely, the Centre for Sino-Christian Studies (CSCS) and the Centre for Applied Ethics (CAE). In addition to theoretical exploration, we focus on research into philosophical or religious traditions in their cultural and cross-cultural contexts.